Jhargram District Police


Find Us On :


Women Help Line No. - +91 8167336699


Jhargram District Police

Shri Arijit Sinha, IPS
View Details

Welcome to our Website

Jhargram Police District was created by bi-furcating the erstwhile Paschim Medinipur District vide G.O. No. 210-PLL/PB/IJ-06/09 Dt. 15.01.2010 of Home Police Department, Govt. of West Bengal. Further on Jhargram has been developed as independent revenue district vide Notification No. – 79/AR/O/2R-I/2011 dated 20 March 2017. Area of Jhargram District falls under the one Sub-Divisional Administrative Unit named as Jhargram Sub-Division having 08(eight) Development Blocks namely Binpur-I, Binpur-II, Jamboni, Jhargram, Gopiballavpur-I, Gopiballavpur-II, Sankrail and Nayagram. Jhargram District consists of 09(Nine) Police Stations- Belpahari, Binpur, Jhargram, Jamboni, Sankrail, Beliabera,Gopiballavpur, Nayagram & Lalgarh; 01(One) All Women PS at Jhargram; 04(Four) Out Post- Manikpara B/H & Jhargram TOP under Jhargram PS, Banspahari OP under Belpahari PS and Ramgarh OP under Lalgarh PS. All PSs are considered worst affected PS by Left Wing Extremist (LWE) in Jungle Mahal. Out of 09 (Nine) Police Stations, 07 (Seven) Police Stations are headed by Inspector of Police and 02 (two) others are headed by SI of Police. Jhargram’s unique landscape, dense jungles, hilly tracts, river beds with long history of Left Wing Extremists make Jhargram an exclusive operational zone. Jhargram’s long interstate border of 127 KM with insurgency – affected state of Jharkhand and 97 KM border with Odhisa is open, hilly, porous & dotted with dense jungles.